Toronto Pride 2010
I made my anual pilgrimage to Toronto this year. However, instead of going in February like I normally do, I went for Pride. That means I was there in the beautiful summer heat, enjoying the near naked men.
Typically while I'm in town, I visit places that are inspiring to the mind, the ROM, the AGO, the science centre. Not this year. This was a party trip. I drank, did things that despite being so open on here - I won't be telling about. Those things go to the grave with me.
I had a wonderful time. My friend Wes, whom you may know from his website Betterby30.blogspot.com and column Fitnessbytes over on Popbytes.com, came up and spend a few days. It was great to see him, we haven't hung out since I saw him when I visited LA.
Honestly, part of the reason that this entry is so vague in details is because the trip sort of blended together. I did go to a magazine launch party at the top of a very exclusive hotel called The Thompson. I met editors, media moguls, the whole 9 yards. I networked the shit out of that party. Probably one of the coolest parts was having my picture taken for the press, since I am an amateur fame whore.
The pride festival itself is something else entirely. The whole neighborhood shuts down and just has a good time, little shops have their own music and dancing, there's street vendors selling practically anything you could possibly want, people handing out invitations to parties.. It's a big celebration. The number of people is overwhelming, but still, somehow everything seems to move fairly quick. I'll definitely go back - maybe not to do the exact same things again, but absolutely to have fun like I did.

previous - next
Wednesday, Jul. 14, 2010 - 12:02 p.m.
about

Twitter
older entries
DDB Canada - Tuesday, Apr. 12, 2011
Epiphany - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2011
Chair and Stool - Thursday, Nov. 11, 2010
To the Grave - Thursday, Sept. 23, 2010
The Boy I Facebook Creep - Tuesday, Aug. 03, 2010