I can pick who ever I choose
So while I'm sitting here waiting for my shirt to come out of the dryer, I decided to update.

This entry's topic is family.

I don't know my blood relatives. Shocking, I know, but it's true. My parents came to Canada 25 years ago in order to be able to work and have an independant life. They both left rather large families to come here, a sacrifice that has worked out for them relatively well. My blood kin is overseas in merry olde England. I the last time I visited I was 16 years old, and I barely had enough time to be introduced to them, let alone get to know them. I, however, have still never seen my 'grandparents' or as I refer to them, my parents' parents, since the term 'grandparent' has an affectionate connotation to it.

By over hearing conversations on the phone, I've come to the understanding that my dad's mother has cancer, and also some other terrible illness. I feel bad for my dad, and I'm sorry that she has cancer. The same way I'm sorry that Melissa Ethridge had breast cancer, I didn't really have an emotional responce, because really, how bad can you feel for someone who may as well be the Tooth Fairy? I think that my mother's father died about 12 years ago. I remember her going over to England for about a week, and me having to stay home, when I really wanted to go, not understanding that a man that my mom was really close to had died.

My aunts, uncles and cousins... hell, there is absolutly nothing to say, I don't even know how many I have.

So, that's why I consider my close friends my family. When I'm with them, I'm home. I feel safe and loved. You know that cliche "Blood is thicker than water"? It really doesn't apply to me. I feel more love for a select group of people than I could ever for some kin over the pond. I am so blessed that these people want to associate with me, and I am so thankful for whatever brought us together.

They say you can't pick your family.


Watch me.

previous - next
Tuesday, Dec. 27, 2005 - 1:27 p.m.
about

Twitter
older entries
DDB Canada - Tuesday, Apr. 12, 2011
Epiphany - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2011
Chair and Stool - Thursday, Nov. 11, 2010
To the Grave - Thursday, Sept. 23, 2010
The Boy I Facebook Creep - Tuesday, Aug. 03, 2010