Trying New Things
Trying new things is something that everyone says they'd like to do.
"I'd like to try more types of food and restaurants"
"I'd like to try new ways of keeping fit"
"I'd like to try learning a new language"

There's a lot of new things in the world to try. I myself have been pushing myself to go past my comfort zone into new territory. While in Los Angeles in February I tested the waters in the local party scene. I tried my first recreational drug, MDMA. I didn't feel all that different while the drug was taking effect, I had dry mouth, huge pupils, and I didn't feel tired. That's all.. But it may be a different case if a person were watching me.. I caught myself beign hypnotized a couple times by the light show behind the DJ. The next day, I felt fairly normal, a little left of center, but still like myself. Though I did have huge pupils still. That was a sunglasses kind of day.
Long story short, for how much it cost, I think I'll stick to RedBull to stay awake.
Now besides my experimentation with MDMA, I have a few opportunities to really step out. In a few weeks, I'll be going to Toronto for Pride.
There are sure to be parties for every taste, and I plan on attending many of them. I have my pass to get me in, saving me in cover charges.
Sampling the wares of different lifestyles is a great way to broaden your own horizons. Even if you find something that isn't really your cup of tea, it's not like you have to make a large lifetime commitment.
For instance, before buying a full class cycle of yoga classes, maybe dropping into a drop in class at your local YMCA is a way to sample what level of commitment you'd be ready to make without commiting financially to very much.
Essentially, what I'm trying to say is that wanting to try new things is great! I highly encourage it, but if you're like me and have to worry about money, it's a great thing that there are a number of ways to try what you are thinking of partaking in before you full out commit without having to pay hefty fees. You might have to look around and get a little creative to do it, but then that could be part of the fun and who knows.. You might find something along the way that you'd never thought of to try - instant broader horizons!

previous - next
Wednesday, Jun. 02, 2010 - 6:36 p.m.
about

Twitter
older entries
DDB Canada - Tuesday, Apr. 12, 2011
Epiphany - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2011
Chair and Stool - Thursday, Nov. 11, 2010
To the Grave - Thursday, Sept. 23, 2010
The Boy I Facebook Creep - Tuesday, Aug. 03, 2010