Dreams and Goals
Dreams are something we all have. On a recent episode of Glee, it was said (and I'm paraphrasing here) that dreams are something we have because we need to believe something that will get us through what's happening to us.
I think it's fairly self evident that there are dreams that we have in the short and long term. I think that most people would say that their dreams are indulgent and whimsical, like "I want to be a rock star" or "I want to win the lottery and travel the world". I don't think there's anything wrong with that, I've often fantasized over winning the lottery, paying off my debts and going on extravagant vacations. That's my ultimate fantasy, I want to go all over the world. Those are probably examples of the larger scale.
I think that it's not unusual for dreams to tie into goals that we have for ourselves. Dreams don't have to be unattainable. Even the larger ones. There's a lot that we can do to actually get there.
Here's my dream that I have for myself. I want to move to Toronto and start, I mean really start, my life.
Once I'm finished school I'm out of here. I should be finished this time next year. Why would I want to move to a place where the competition is so high for everything? Because I can't not move. Edmonton is not my home anymore and hasn't been for a while. I've realized that and now I'm taking active steps to achieve my dream.
My father moved to Canada when he was 23 years old. I'm now 24. I can't even imagine being in a place where I'd be capable of moving to a foreign country at my age. He was ready, he made his dream and achieved his goal. He's successful and has a wonderful life.
Ultimately, I don't think that we need to keep ourselves stuck just dreaming about what we'd like out of life. I want to move clear across the country, that's pretty big. While my dad moved across the Atlantic, I just want to move across a few provinces. I'm determined to make my dreams a reality, because I deserve to live in a city where I feel like I'm home.
What are you doing to realise your dreams?

previous - next
Tuesday, May. 25, 2010 - 11:32 a.m.
about

Twitter
older entries
DDB Canada - Tuesday, Apr. 12, 2011
Epiphany - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2011
Chair and Stool - Thursday, Nov. 11, 2010
To the Grave - Thursday, Sept. 23, 2010
The Boy I Facebook Creep - Tuesday, Aug. 03, 2010