Cuba 2009
I spent a week in Cayo Coco, Cuba. It was absolutly beautiful.
A friend of mine asked me if I wanted to go with him and his boyfriend, I have to admit, I really didn't want to go if it was just going to be me with them. Luckily, I found a friend of mine who wanted to come as well, Jessica.
We stayed at the Melia Cayo Coco resort. Four and a half stars and adults only. No screaming kids around the pool, no having to watch what I say or how I say it. My kind of vacation.
The amount of tanning I did worked out to be the equivalent to a full time job, hours-wise. About 40 hours in the 35+ degree celcius. I came back almost a different ethnicity [haha].
There were a few magical experiences that I had while there. At the beaches, if you stand very still in the water, little fish will swim around your legs. I had no idea that would happen and the first time it did was wonderful. It was amazing.
We went to a nightclub that was located in a cave. We had to go down this flight of curving stairs, and we were in. the headroom in certain places was really low, but still awesome. I found this passageway that seemed to lead nowhere, just a dark (almost pitch black) tunnel. There were bats flying everywhere. It was surreal. No one went into the passage, I was standing alone in the dark, just enough light to barely see, and hundreds of bats were flying around me. Some of them coming so close that I could feel the air from their wings on my face. I felt comfortable and part of something while I was standing there. It was a peaceful moment. I wish that he had of been there, I wanted to share that with him.
I also went snorkeling, something I've never done before. There were so many fish, it was amazing. I'm not very confident in my swimming abilities, but I found it so easy to swim in the water because of the salt. It was easy to stay bouyant.
I would go back in a heartbeat. I came back with a bitchin tan.
Cuban Flag on Catamaran

previous - next
Monday, Jun. 22, 2009 - 10:45 p.m.
about

Twitter
older entries
DDB Canada - Tuesday, Apr. 12, 2011
Epiphany - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2011
Chair and Stool - Thursday, Nov. 11, 2010
To the Grave - Thursday, Sept. 23, 2010
The Boy I Facebook Creep - Tuesday, Aug. 03, 2010