A Falling Out.
I have something I want to get off my chest.
I haven't talked about this on my YouTube account, even though this happened several months ago and is a fairly significant life event (at this stage in my life at least).

One of my most meaningful relationships came crashing down in a behemouth of words that can't be taken back. My arguably closest friend and I had a falling out. I think what the powederkeg that was ignited in the arguement that ulitmately ended the friendship was a collection of little things that bothered him that gathered into a juggernaught of frustration and resentment, however since I haven't spoken to him since late December 2007, I can't be sure.
There's a few incidents that should probably talked about before I get into the proper meat and bones of the story. In the months that he was here for the summer, I had a birthday a couple weeks in, to which he was invited, along with a few other friends of mine. He hit it off with another guy who was invited, and drew the attention of yet another friend of mine who was there. That's what he does - he's good at getting people to be attracted to him. He dated the first friend for a while - it didn't really work out.
He then started hanging out with the other friend of mine that he caught the eye of, I'm not sure of the nature of their relationship. I did ask him, however, to not sleep with him. At that point, I had a crush on that guy and really didn't want to see my friend knowingly get it on with the man I like. I'll be coming back to this a little later.
I had met a guy through a friend. I still think he's the most attractive man I've ever seen, he just oozes what gets me going. So, after getting to know him a little better, I was feeling more confident. To the point where I felt comfortable introducing him to a couple people I know out in public. My former-friend being one of them.
He and I never really had the same taste in men, something that usually worked out pretty well for the both of us, it kept things seperate and jealousy free for the most part. I had told him about this guy I know and how much I really did like him. He seemed really happy for me and wanted to meet him, so the next time we were out, and I saw the guy, I introduced them.
A few weeks later we were at the last night of a local bar being open, a sort of 'last hurrah!' and naturally everyone who was there was there. I ran into my former friend and he tells me that he's a virtual kid in a candy store with there being approx 5 guys there that he knows for a fact are interested in him. Good for him. I told him as long as he leaves the guy I like for me, obviously in a light hearted, yet serious way.
Later that night, I saw the former-friend and the guy I liked talking and the former-friend was heavily flirting with him directly in front of me, knowing that I could see the two of them. Obviously this upset me.
Later that night I was a little rude to my friend.
I texted him the next day asking what time he got home from the bar, thinking that it would be a way for me to open lines of dialogue, realising on my end that a man is not worth fighting over. I was thinking that the whole thing was silly and I was ready to move on. He replies to my text with a very long winded and angry message telling me that I ruined the friendship and that I'm basically a horrible person. Taken a bit aback, I replied to it with something insinuating that I can't be the only one to blame in a rift.
I called him and he yelled at me for about 10 minutes saying that he thinks I like seeing him unhappy and that it's not his fault that people are attracted to him (however it I think it is his fault that he makes himself so "available").
At this point, I'm thinking to myself that this is still not worth arguing over and I'm gearing up to appologize when he drops this bomb: "I'm tired of having to lower myself to be around you". True feelings finally came out.

At that point that's right when I decided to not give a damn anymore. I don't want to be friends with someone who thinks that they need to condescend to be around me.
So he's welcome to go live his life higher than me. I'm not going to drag him down anymore.

previous - next
Wednesday, May. 21, 2008 - 12:16 a.m.
about

Twitter
older entries
DDB Canada - Tuesday, Apr. 12, 2011
Epiphany - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2011
Chair and Stool - Thursday, Nov. 11, 2010
To the Grave - Thursday, Sept. 23, 2010
The Boy I Facebook Creep - Tuesday, Aug. 03, 2010