All the potential in the world
I believe that some people on this earth are 'meant' to be something special. I use the term meant in quotations because I don't consider it fate, but more of an eventuality.

Some people are going to be a musical virtuoso. Some people are going to head a research team that will develop a cure for a horrible illness. Others will be talented actors/actresses.

On the flip side, I also believe that there are also people who won't be anything like that. People who are going to go about their everyday lives, just living. Raise a family, have a job, retire, and then die. A 'normal' person.

Then there is the middle ground. In this system of beliefs, there are also people who help others realise what they have to offer the world. I have a feeling that this is where I will play out my part in the world. I won't be anyone special, I won't have this huge important impact on the world, or the way people look at it. I will be able to help others be as much as they can.

I can see so much potential and so much promise in some people. It's almost as if this potential I can see plays out in their eyes like a movie of what they will be if they want to. It's a very powerful feeling, knowing that someone is going to be something great and knowing that you have a responsibility to make them realise how special they indeed actually are.

I've don't think I've fully made peace with this. I still want to be special. I want someone I care about to tell me that I'm going to 'make it', that I'm going to be important. I want to have an influence on the way people see things. I like feeling as though I'm going to be able to help others, but who's going to be there to help me?

previous - next
Monday, Dec. 19, 2005 - 1:24 p.m.
about

Twitter
older entries
DDB Canada - Tuesday, Apr. 12, 2011
Epiphany - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2011
Chair and Stool - Thursday, Nov. 11, 2010
To the Grave - Thursday, Sept. 23, 2010
The Boy I Facebook Creep - Tuesday, Aug. 03, 2010