-
I'm reading White Oleander. I've just spent the last two hours in the world of Astrid. Her pain of losing the person who gave her back the world, and how she could do nothing to stop Claire from falling from her grasp.

Someone once said that it is better to have loved and lost then to have never loved at all. The truth is, that's abosolute crap. Its better to have never loved than to loose someone in the way described in the book. Asking for your help, but being too disgusted to do anything but weep by yourself in a locked bedroom. All the while they mix insomnia pills with bourbon, sweet as cough syrup.

There has never been any book to have touched me in such a way. I feel I can identify (although I know that my mother did not commit murder, and I also know that I am not in foster care hell) with Astrid. Her pain at least.

But I have Bigger things to Worry about.

previous - next
2003-07-18 - 5:55 p.m.
about

Twitter
older entries
DDB Canada - Tuesday, Apr. 12, 2011
Epiphany - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2011
Chair and Stool - Thursday, Nov. 11, 2010
To the Grave - Thursday, Sept. 23, 2010
The Boy I Facebook Creep - Tuesday, Aug. 03, 2010